Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

Mr. Tardy, I’m calling about our plastic, boring, vanilla waste of your time

Posted in Selling by elephanthunters on March 25, 2010

That’s what I hear when you cold call me.

  • Please don’t do this.
  • It’s painful for everyone involved.
  • You know someone who likes you.  Ask them who they know and then ask them who they know.
  • Get referrals. Use references.
  • Life is too short to cold call.

I might really want to buy your product, but it’s only happening if I think its my idea or someone I trust says it’s a good deal.

Do you disagree with this?  Am I crazy?  I’m willing to bet that no one responds to this saying they enjoy being called on cold.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. misty said, on March 25, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Absolutely HATE cold calling. Nothings a greater turn off than to try to listen to someone attempt to sell you on something you know your company is absolutely not interested in.

    Next worst hate: don’t followup with me and harrass me on where we stand on a deal when I have plain as day told you I WILL CALL YOU BACK, give me 30days, not 7!!! Ugh, its unbelievable what will kill a sale faster than a blink of an eye.

  2. John Felkins said, on March 25, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Cold calling is dead. The fact that I’ve been interrupted to take your call is strike three before you ever start talking. Adios muchacho, I don’t care what you’re selling!

  3. Henry Brown said, on March 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Does anyone still cold call? I thought that is what all those robocalls were for?

    “Press 1 if you like to hear more about our product . . . Press pound if you would like to be removed from our call list.” Actually, I don’t know if it says that because I hang up before then, but in my dreams it does.

    I politely get off cold calls as quickly as possible, unless it is to my cell phone. I keep a landline phone just for those calls.


Leave a Reply

