Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

What’s up with ‘Serving You’?

Posted in Personal Development by elephanthunters on March 24, 2010

This is my email signature:

Serving You,

Daniel Tardy
Director of EntreLeadership Promotions
www.EntreLeadership.com
Direct: 800-983-3385
Twitter: @DanielTardy

Serving You

A lot of people ask me why I write ‘Serving You’ instead of Sincerely, All The Best, Thanks, or any other ‘normal’ valediction.

This particular complementary close reminds me that these Latin words are penned inside the front cover of my journal:

Inservio Deus. Inservio Populus. Prosequor Integritas.

Serve God. Serve people. Pursue integrity.

This is my goal.  If I can focus on these three things, then everything else in my life is just a smaller supporting part of this focus.  I am not naturally inclined to serve.  I actually tend to be quite selfish.  My actions rarely reflect the intentions of this goal…that’s why it’s a goal.  It pushes me out of my comfort zone.

When I write an email and read the phrase ‘Serving You’, I see it with a question mark on the end:

Serving You?

  • Am I really serving them?
  • Should I rephrase something?
  • Should I save this as a draft and send it tomorrow (or not at all)?
  • Is THAT word really necessary?
  • Should I add some courtesy phrases and put a little more thought into this?  Maybe even ask how their day is going?

I tend to fire off emails with a healthy dose of cynicism, laziness and a general lack of service.  If I’m not careful they just become a task that needs to be eliminated from my inbox.  This little reminder pops in front of my eyes 50 – 100 times a day, and each time it challenges me to lean away from my self centered perspective and back toward my goal of living a life of service.

I have not arrived

There are plenty of times I hit the send button prematurely without processing through all of this in my mind, but since I started including this line in my signature, I’ve seen my character slowly shift toward a spirit of humility.  Not to say that this technique itself has caused the change;  it’s certainly not a magic formula.  I just find that reminding myself daily of how I want to live helps me to focus on the goal.

What tricks do you use to remind yourself of your goals?  Different things work for different people…I’d love to hear any techniques you find to be helpful!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ramona Rice said, on March 24, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I think it is interesting when someone uses a term like “serving you” at the end of a correspondence. I think the best thing in your post is not that you simply write the word but you also try to live by it each day. PS- can’t wait, 3 weeks until I see DR’s EntreLeadership live!

  2. Elijah said, on March 25, 2010 at 11:21 am

    I love that thought process you go through before you hit send…I bet that makes your emails 3000% more effective and meaningful for the recipients.

  3. Brenda Flaming said, on March 27, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Wow, simple yet powerful. This is a great reminder of keeping hold of those core values. The best thing I learned at Entreleadership was Integrity; know it, own it, show it, keep it close always….makes decision making much clearer.

  4. lancecashion said, on March 27, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    excellent! I have adopted the same attitude

    If you actively type “serving you” every time you send an email, instead of using the auto-signature feature, you are conscious of the action and your behavior and attitude will follow suit… given, i’m not a psychologist, but it makes sense.

    In Texas, we say…

    Serving Ya’ll


Leave a Reply

