Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

Get a free galley copy of ‘Switch’

Posted in Business, Personal Development by elephanthunters on January 15, 2010

Coming Soon

From the best selling authors of Made to Stick, Chip Heath & Dan Heath have done it again.  This book is slated to launch February 16th, 2010, and I have been asked to help promote it.  I have no doubt this will be another best seller.  I’ve been given 25 galley copies of ‘Switch’, and have been asked to get them in the hands of ‘change agents’ between now and the launch date.

Here’s how to get your free copy:

  1. Leave a comment on this post about why you want to read this book
  2. I will select my 25 favorite comments (You don’t get to know the secret formula of selection. All I can tell you is to show some passion, be creative and have fun with it.  It also won’t hurt your odds if you retweet, repost or otherwise share the info.  Remember you’re a ‘change agent’ – so you’re helping promote this too.)
  3. Once you comment, you need to email me your mailing address: daniel.tardy@daveramsey.com
  4. If I select you to be one of the 25 recipients of this book, your copy will be mailed out  on Monday, 1/18
  5. By posting a comment here you are agreeing to (if I select you):
    • Read the book in it’s entirety between now and 2/16 (265 pages)
    • Post a reply to the review post I make on this blog on 2/16 (you’ll get an email reminder)
    • Post your own review on any consumer retail site like Amazon or Barnes & Nobel.

It’s a great read…

You don’t want to miss this opportunity to have the info first!  I can already tell you that my review will be a positive one, but I’m not going to spoil it for you yet.

Stay tuned.

Tagged with:

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jodi said, on January 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    I loved Made to Stick and I’m so excited to see these guys putting out another book! I am in a tough position right now with my boss and i’m trying to be respectful but things really need to change. I’m starting to lose hope in my situation so i would love to read this to get some advice on how to change things.

  2. Steve Blair said, on January 15, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Change happens every day. I think the key is to be the one causing change versus reacting to change. I struggle sometimes as a leader to create positive change…I work with a lot of creative people on my team and they’re usually up for the ride but I have a tough time getting buy in from our ‘structure people’.

    We’re making some big changes this year that I’m afraid might cause me to loose some key people. How do you implement change in your business without loosing loyalty from your team who won’t like the new system?

    Thanks Daniel for your post!

  3. Ben said, on January 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Let me know if you don’t get 25 comments and you still need to give away some books. I’ve already added it to my reading list, but unfortunately it doesn’t align with your time frame.

  4. misty said, on January 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Change is good, can be exciting, is always needful, many times helpful, necessary, sometimes difficult, gives motivation to exceed, means you can be different, and by doing modifications you will exchange for something better than the current scenerio or situation!

    I want to read this book because others insight and experience help you to learn and see things from a different angle you previously didn’t see yourself. I want to instill excellence in all areas of life and because of that, I strive to possess outstanding quality.

    I enjoy your blog and comments Daniel! THANKS for your support.

  5. lance said, on January 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    If I like the book and think the information is useful, I’ll tell 100 people or more. That’s just the kind of guy I am. (simple).

    over and out

  6. janetober said, on January 15, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Change is needed in my life to become the person I want to be. I know a book called Switch should help … especially when it’s written by Chip Heath & Dan Heath.

    I blog regularly and give away a book on Winning Wednesday … so I would read, review and give away this book to spread change around the world!

    Even if I win, I’ll be buying a copy – cuz I have a friend that is trying to lose around 100 lbs this year and I sent her a link to the Heath Brothers website when they had posts about food and willpower. I told her if she has lost some weight by 2/16 when this book comes out, I will buy her Switch as motivation and support to keep going. She’s already lost 7 lbs so I know I’ll be buying her a copy!

    Here I go to tweet about this 🙂

  7. mattbortmess said, on January 15, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    I just read a review of this book today in Inc. It looks great and I would love to get my hands on a copy!

  8. Chris said, on January 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    I love the idea of change but suck at implementing and overcoming conflict. It is not in my nature at all. I need this read.

  9. Lenny Monroe said, on January 15, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Hi Daniel,
    Can’t wait to give this a read. These past months have been a major change for all of us in the Monroe house. Not that we are unaccustomed to changing, but this one caught us unprepared. The painful lessons have been a great education for all us, especially me and my reluctance to face the hard facts that stare me in the face. I read a book a week so this one will get digested quickly.
    Thanks for the chance. Saludos

  10. potus2016 said, on January 16, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Hi Daniel,
    Well, for WAY too many years I did only the things I knew and didn’t want to change, because I didn’t know how to. Once I was introduced to Dave Ramsey two years ago, I began to change. This last year was kind of hard on me mentally, my younger brother got married and since I am still single it really started messing with my head and I wasn’t expecting that. But since my trip to the Entreleadership Master Class I have been able to shift my mindset on business, and on learning about improving myself. I have never been a big New Years Resolutions guy, but I saw this last change in the calender as a “Switch” flipping in how I live my life. One of the changes is reading. I have created a list of all the books on Dave’s Recommended Reading List (100 books) and am finishing the second book tonight and as soon as I get to the office on Monday, this book will go on that list and move to the top of the reading order, weather I win a copy this weekend or not. I will be using my blog, my Facebook and my twitter to spread the word of this book and will post reviews when I finish. There are two people that I will follow without question, my father and Dave Ramsey. And since Dave has full faith in you and what you might get involved in, I KNOW beyond any doubt that this is going to be a great book.

    I trust the family is doing well, and don’t forget if you are ever out in the Portland area again to get ahold of me and I’ll drop my plans and maybe even go to a Blazer game. Whatever the results, thanks for the heads up on this book.

    Your Friend,
    Aaron Huddart

  11. John said, on January 16, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Daniel,
    Wow, what a great resource. Thanks for sharing. Made to stick was great, Switch has got to be a worthy read. The subject begs for fresh insights.

  12. Ryan said, on January 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    They’ve got one thing right for sure…change is REALLY hard!! I’ve been working the same job for almost 8 years and it drains the life out of me! I followed the money instead of following my passion, and I am paying for it now!! Now that I’m in this rut, how do I get out? I know that I’ve got to grow, get out of my comfort zone, give up something to get something different, etc. Saying that is one thing, but doing it is another! I’d love to read the book! I believe that it could definitely help me get the momentum to get out of this rut I’ve created!

  13. David said, on February 10, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Late to this party, but happy to find it! (I got here through a citation at theatrebayarea.org’s Chatterbox blog, btw…)

    I lead an initiative aiming to advance the system of support for new plays and playwrights nationally. If you’re curious about the state of this system, poke around a bit in the #newplay conversation at our blog or on Twitter. Major issues on the national level that are creating an outcome that I describe as snatching scarcity from the jaws of abundance.

    What we’re attempting to do at Arena Stage is to lead a “positive inquiry” into the field that will identify local successes and provide a strategic approach to testing, developing, and scaling up those discoveries and practices so they impact the whole sector. It’s not malnutrition in Vietnamese children, but do a quick search for Todd London’s new book “Outrageous Fortune” and you’ll see the extent of the problems plaguing playwrights in the US.

    All this to say, that I will read the book hungrily and carry it into this nationwide conversation around new plays. If you’ve got a galley lying around, I’ll read it early. If not, I’ll wait for it to come out next week. It seems like it just might provide the frame we need to reach a broad enough understanding of the approach here at Arena Stage to rally our sector around problem-solving approaches to a seemingly insurmountable set of challenges.


Leave a Reply

