Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

What if you’re not Tiger Woods?

Posted in Personal Development by elephanthunters on December 3, 2009

Jesper Parnevik gave a public statement yesterday apologizing to Tiger Wood’s wife, Elin Nordegren, for ever introducing her to Tiger.  Parnevik, talked for a while about his feelings of disappointment in Wood’s recent personal decisions that have now been unveiled in the public eye.

I think there is something interesting in Parnevik’s following comment:

“It’s a private thing, of course, but when you are the guy he is, the world’s best athlete, you should think more before you do stuff.”

I understand Tiger is in the public eye and he should embrace personal responsibility, but when I heard Parnevik’s statement I couldn’t help but ask myself this question:

Is personal responsibility something that should simply scale to our level of influence?

Or to ask it another way…If I’m not the world’s best athlete should I think any less before I ‘do stuff’?

What do you think?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on December 3, 2009 at 11:15 am

    I think Jasper has got it backwards. I think the your level of fame opens you up on two huge fronts. One, people scrutinize your every move. This makes it more difficult to get help when you are in those sticky temptation areas. Second, people are quick to criticize you when you do fall, regardless of how repentant that person is.

    To answer your question, I don’t think personality responsibility scales with influence. Either you are responsible or you’re not.

    However, temptation does scale. Surrounding yourself with honest, good men (or women) that you can call and that will call you out is the key. Realizing that you can’t will yourself to a higher level of morality is key. Surrendering our pride and tendency to beat temptation ourselves is the key to living with integrity.

    Personally, I’m sad for Tiger. It must be lonely up there. Jasper’s comments only reinforce that. I hope Tiger has some people he trusts he can go to that will show some grace and speak some truth.

    • elephanthunters said, on December 3, 2009 at 2:01 pm

      Michael,

      Many of us have plans to become more successful or have more influence, but from my experience those plans rarely include taking good people with us so that we have them to lean on when we get in a sticky situation.

      If we end up on an island by ourselves we are in trouble regardless of how much influence we have.

      I think you’re right that the temptation scales with our influence.

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. lennymonroe said, on December 3, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Makes me ponder, Daniel, that we must think and rethink our decisions not only in the time frame of the moment, but that of the long term(ie: eternity). Some day ALL of us will look back on our decisions and reframe and reflect on them in the light of that day. Why not ask the probing questions now? Think of how it will affect your grandchildren, be it blessing or curse? When you get the answer, keep it on your forehead for all to see.
    Live by it and if need be, die by it. Your legacy is formed by the actions or non-actions you took in your life. Your character writes the outline before the story is finished.

  3. Heather said, on December 3, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    My influence lies solely on that of my two daughters, and that is enough accountability for me.

  4. Phil Bates said, on December 10, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    I agree with the other comments above, especially Michael. I think it is challenging to ask man–who is by nature flawed– to withstand the scrutiny of such a strong spotlight, along with all of the temptations that fame brings. It reminds me that Jesus is our true role model, the only perfectly righteous one. Of course I strive to have integrity, honesty, and moral high standards, but what *really* matters is that Jesus was righteous in my place. He justifies the wicked of which I am eternally grateful.

    Phil


Leave a Reply

