Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

Cyber Monday (AKA check your brain at the door)

Posted in Business, Personal Development by elephanthunters on November 30, 2009

When you take a driver’s safety course they will tell you the first thing to do if you’re getting sleepy while driving is to turn off the cruise control.  Keeping your mind engaged in active driving will minimize your chances of ending up in the ditch.

Many Americans will turn on the cruise control today

It’s ‘Cyber Monday’ which means an estimated 100 million people are shopping online right now instead of working.  Christmas songs are on the radio and our tummy’s are still full with turkey and pumpkin pie.  ‘Tis the season, right?

Were you tempted too?

I caught myself slipping a little bit mentally this morning as I was packing my gym bag.  I thought to myself, “Maybe I should just wait until January to get going again on my physical goals”.  I was tempted to turn on the cruise control.

Dave Ramsey called me out

Dave Ramsey gave our staff a great core value talk this morning about keeping our eye on the ball during this time of year while everyone seems to be letting off the gas a little bit.

This is my take away from his talk

  • If we are doing work that matters, then it matters that we work.  It matters that we finish the race we started.  People are stressed out and hurting right now, but we have something that can help them.
  • I am the only one who can maximize the opportunity I’ve been given…no one else is going to be there to pick up my slack.  If I let off the gas then we slow down, period.  When we slow down our customers don’t get served.
  • I want to start 2010 with momentum.

Do you see the signs of people turning on cruise control around you this week?

Tagged with: , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike Larson said, on November 30, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    excellent, sharing this with my team!

    • elephanthunters said, on November 30, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      That’s great Mike! You bring up a good point – If you’re a small business owner then this is probably worth sharing with your team even if you aren’t personally letting off the gas. Remember that the things you do in moderation they will do in excess…and this includes coasting.

  2. John Felkins said, on November 30, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Good stuff Daniel. You’ve stimulated a thought on my part (no easy task), start with what you want to get accomplished this week and work backwards to Monday morning. Shed everything that doesn’t accelerate you towards your goal. Hint: you don’t accelerate when you have it set on cruise!

    • elephanthunters said, on November 30, 2009 at 4:43 pm

      Hey John,

      I love the idea of working backwards into Monday morning…In my experience many times our Monday mornings are completely reactive.

      I love to think about what a proactive Monday morning looks like.

      I’m glad that thought stimulation has occurred! 🙂

  3. Marian Meade said, on October 1, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Hi Daniel!

    Ok, I am replying almost 2 years later so don’t know if you will get this….I am really big on building mindfulness into my life and helping clients do so as well. I just LOVE the metaphor you used to bring your topic to life! Creating metaphors is something I’m working on, so thanks for the great example!
    Cheers!
    Marian


Leave a Reply

