Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

Mix it up

Posted in Personal Development by elephanthunters on September 22, 2009

trail-running

I run a lot.  Not a whole lot by most people’s standards, but definitely a lot for a 210# guy with a desk job.  My M.O. is to go out and pound the pavement for 2-4 miles with my iPod and my heart rate monitor; same routes, same pace, same music mix…but today I did something completely new.

A buddy of mine, Bill Hampton, talked me into doing a 4.5 mile trail run in Percy Warner Park.

I didn’t really know what to expect, and it’s probably a good thing, because parts of this trail made me feel like I needed a climbing harness and a rope.  It was  muddy, slippery, rugged and fast.  We were leaping over logs, dodging under branches and shuffle-stepping to avoid stumbling down 150 foot vertical drops  just inches away from our feet.  It was dark and wet.  It was hard.  I yelled out a few ‘war cries’ and got Bill to do the same.  We got lost but we kept running under the theory that “all these trails have to come out in the same place, right?”.  So it added a couple miles and we were ticked- part of the adventure and drama.

With about a mile left to go I told Bill, “This has to be the biggest release I’ve had all year”.  I felt alive and free.  The last time I felt this way when I was running was….hmm, not sure I’ve ever felt that way.  Running had become boring.  I had no idea that mixing it up like that would take it from vanilla to exhilarating in just one work out.

The point?

Doing the same thing in a new way defeats the boredom.  It’s easy to get bored with selling and running a business so mix it up daily.

  • If you normally make phone calls sitting down, then try standing up all day
  • If you drive the same route to work every day, try leaving 30 minutes early and take a new CD and a new route
  • Bring breakfast in for your whole office one day and tell them you appreciate them
  • Stand on your chair in a meeting and ask people a thought provoking question (I’ll never forget when Tara stood up on her chair on her first day in staff meeting to introduce herself)
  • Give a high five to everyone you see for a whole day
  • Take a walk on your lunch break
  • Sit on a ball
  • Sit on the roof during your next conference call
  • Play the Rocky Theme at your desk until one of your coworkers makes you to turn it down
  • If someone is in your office having a meltdown, dump water on your head and tell them to chill – they will laugh – and then they will chill
  • Throw up a rock fist every time you close a deal

Don’t be afraid of cheesy.  Cheesy beats boring every time.  Mix it up just for the sake of mixing it up.  Take a risk…leave the pavement behind.

more resources on trail running

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Felkins said, on September 23, 2009 at 5:41 am

    Welcome to the great outdoors! Sounds like a great run! Beware, you’ll learn to hate the asphalt and long for the mud. Great points about business. Why do you think so many people avoid trying something new?

  2. elephanthunters said, on September 23, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    John,

    I’m not sure about most people but for me it’s just not how I naturally think. It took Bill to say ‘hey, let’s go do this’. Once I knew about it and was encouraged to try it then it was a simple decision.

    This is part of why i enjoy twitter/blogging/non-fiction books. They challenge me with new things that I wouldn’t have thought of otherwise.

  3. martin said, on April 13, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I love running the Percy Warner Park trails. Let me know if you guys every head out there again – I would enjoy the fellowship.
    A group of us run every Sunday before church (7AM start) – feel free to join next time you need “a release”.
    Great BLOG by the way – keep up the good work at Lampo.


Leave a Reply

