Daniel Tardy: License To Sell

A letter from an old friend.

Posted in Personal Development, Selling by elephanthunters on July 15, 2009

This is written by a guy who used to be a close friend of mine…pretty interesting. – DT

——

I have a lot of friends.  I guess it’s because I’m so easy to be around.  It’s amazing how quickly people love me when I introduce myself to them, in fact, my friends are always referring me to their friends and family so I definitely benefit from the power of networking.  I get a bad rap for a lot things that I do, but one thing I am definitely good at is making people feel better when they are in pain or when they’re tired.  I’m almost always available for my friends which I guess is why I have so many.  I’m not on Facebook but I’m sure that if I was that I’d max out the friend limit pretty quick.  Call me arrogant but I’m just telling you like it is.

One of my biggest goals in life is to know someone that’s extremely successful.  Sure I’ve met plenty of successful people but they wouldn’t know my name if they saw me out somewhere.  I’ve also met a lot of people that seemed successful but when I got to know them I realized that they weren’t really that great.  Regardless of how broad my network is I can never seem to meet a really successful person.  Whether it’s in business or athletics or even a top producing salesperson…just once I’d love to hang out with someone who is at the top, a champion, but I can never seem to make it happen.

I’m really tight with a lot of salespeople because they’re always coming to me when they’re frustrated and I usually help them out.  I don’t know a lot of truly great salespeople but I know plenty of salespeople all the same.  I have kind of a love/hate relationship with the salespeople I know.  You see when they’re together with their other sales buddies they’re always talking bad about me behind my back, but when they’re out in the field and having a rough day I’m the one they call for support.  I find this ironic but I’m OK with it because I know I’m the only one that really makes them feel better.

I tend to have relationships that last a long time and I pride myself as someone who doesn’t give up on people.  Occasionally though one of my really good friends will get fed up with me…inevitably they’ll start focusing on my weaknesses and we’ll get in a huge fight about why I’m such a bad influence on them. Next thing you know they’re telling me that we’re not going to be friends anymore…kind of junior high drama if you ask me…but whatever.  This usually happens when they start hanging out with people who I’m not friends with; the successful people.  I think the successful people influence them more than I can and when they get close to them I tend to get the boot.

I don’t know if you know me or not but the chances are pretty good that we’ve met before and if it’s been a while since we’ve talked I’d love to hang out and catch up sometime.  You know me as the word “Quit”.  If you’re feeling beat down and discouraged I can take your pain away…all you have to do is talk to me and we’ll work it out.  Also if you know anyone who is successful, I mean REALLY successful, I’d consider it an honor if you would introduce me to them…chances are they don’t even know who I am.

-Q

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thepocketface said, on July 19, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Nice! I guess quitting does take the pain away, at least temporarily…this is really good writing, thanks for sharing 😀


Leave a Reply

